10 comments on “How to use Proxifier for Windows 8 MetroStyle apps

  1. Thanks. Your method worked. But Fiddler2 sometimes takes up too much ram. Is there any way to reduce that? Also how to make fiddler2 run at system startup?

    • To reduce the memory usage, you could only keep the last 100 sessions instead of all. Click the “Keep: All sessions” button and select a value of your choice. I usually choose 1000. Also, after some time, you could close it and then start it again.

      To make it start with Windows, I couldn’t find an option for this in Fiddler2 but you can go to this folder:
      C:\Users\[USER]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
      And create a shortcut for Fiddler2 there. (Drag+drop while holding ALT key).

  2. I am having a problem. I set up proxifier and fiddler as per your guide and everything was working well. Then a few days ago, the news and weather and some other apps stopped connecting. They are showing ‘offline’ when opened. The curious thing is that the live tiles are updating and showing pics of the latest news, temperature respectively. Can you help?
    Thanks in advance.

    • To be frank, I’m having problem with my own Metro Apps too. The apps you mentioned stopped working and updating them wouldn’t solve my problem. Maybe uninstalling-reinstalling would help, I haven’t tested. The programs I have wrote or the programs I have downloaded from store all are working though.

  3. Thank you for the tip. Works quite well, but I have noticed issues with a lot of Third Party applications especially Skype which fail to connect even with this method.

    Tried to remove and add them again to the Exemption list, but no luck with getting them to work.

Leave a Reply

